Call us Now: (240) 301-1672

Learn More About Our DUI Attorney Services!

DUI Attorneys in Charles County, MD

Within Maryland the legal drinking age is 21, as it is within other states across the United States. Generally, DUI (driving under the influence) and DWI (driving whilst intoxicated) are serious criminal offences.

Maryland also has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving, prosecutions of which can lead to long-term and potentially life-changing consequences. Alongside criminal penalties such as jail sentences and fines, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) can also instituteadministrative penalties by giving you points on your driving record. The legal system can be intimidating if you’re unfamiliar with it, especially when it comes to criminal cases such as these, and this is why we’re here to guide and advise you before, throughout and after the process.

DWI – Meaning and Explanation

Driving whilst intoxicated is the least severe out of the three offences outlined above, and the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for a DWI has a limit of 0..07%. Reflecting this, the criminal and administrative penalties for a DWI are less severe than a DUI’s. Fines are in the region of $500, and depending on whether it is a first or a second offence the time sentenced to jail can vary between two months to even up to a year.

Nevertheless, a DWI is still a serious criminal offence, and the court process if you’re caught driving whilst intoxicated can be prolonged and time-consuming. A DWI can still have a significant impact on your life, especially if your driving license is revoked or suspended or you are sentenced to jail. Seeking counsel with an expert attorney is in your best interests. As DWI attorneys in the Charles County, we will tirelessly advocated for the right of our clients, and we will do everything to ensure that we produce the most ideal outcome for you.

DUI Laws in Maryland

Drinking and driving is universally seen as a criminal offence, although the severity and type of penalty differs depending on the state or city. Within Maryland, driving under the influence or DUI is a 0.08% blood alcohol concentration of above, and with this percentage you are regarded in Maryland as being under the influence of alcohol ‘per se’. This means that in court other forms of evidence, such as whether or not your breath smelled of alcohol or sobriety tests, aren’t necessary to demonstrate that you were drinking and driving. DUIs have criminal as well as administrative punishments.

The severity of the penalty depends on various factors surrounding the circumstances of the incident, such as the number of prior offences within the last five years, and if there were children present in the vehicle at the time. For example, a first offence DUI can lead to a sentence of up to a year in jail alongside a fine of $1000. If children were there at the time, then for a first offence DUI you could be sentenced to up to two years in jail and be faced with a fine of up to $2000. Anyone who is dealing with a DUI should acquire legal help as soon as possible. For those looking for a Charles Country Maryland DUI Attorney, you just need to reach out to us so that we can secure the best possible conclusion.

Maryland’s Zero-Tolerance Stance on Underage Drinking

With regards to underage drinking, there are instances where the legal guardian of the child is equally as liable and held responsible as well. If you’re ever in a situation where you or your child have been arrested for underage drinking, then working with a professional underage drinking attorney is of the utmost importance. Anyone under the age of 21 who is stopped and found to have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or more is essentially breaking the law in Maryland. In comparison, the DUI blood alcohol concentration limit for individuals over the age of 21 is 0.08%.

When it’s a minor’s first time offence for DUI, they would have their driver’s license revoked for a period of six months, may have to pay a $500 fine and could face up to two months of jail time. Repeat offences can lead to permanent driving restrictions, increased fines and a greater likelihood of spending more time in jail. The reasons Maryland’s laws for underage drinking and driving are so severe is because minors are more likely to be involved in such incidents, and it is a measure to protect against any unnecessary injury or loss of life related to underage drivers. Still, for a minor and their parents or guardians, this can be an uncertain and stressful time. However, being represented by an attorney specializing in underage drinking means that this incident doesn’t have to determine the trajectory of the rest of your child’s life.

Professional and Reliable Services

For those searching for a Maryland DUI, DWI and underage drinking attorney, finding someone who is reliable and trustworthy is of the essence. Strong representation is crucial in order to ensure that your case is as fair as possible for all of the parties involved, including yourself. With us, we can assure you that we will thoroughly review every aspect of your case, making sure you are being treated fairly and carefully identifying and examining each and every detail which will prove to be of a benefit to you as our client. 

If you ever find yourself facing DUI, DWI or underage drinking charges, it’s important to consult one of our experienced attorneys immediately. The reason for this is because that these are all serious criminal offences, the penalties of which can be severe. With our expertise, we can guide you through each stage of the process, reaching a just conclusion so that we can mitigate the penalties, or even acquire an acquittal. A skilled defence attorney can make all the difference when it comes to the outcome of your trial.

Call Us Now To Speak With An Attorney And Get Your Free Case Evaluation!